List of Public and bank holidays in West Bengal 2017

India is a diverse country with a number of religions, languages and cultures. Except the three national holidays festival, religious and cultural holidays differ from state to state. No two states have the same list of holidays. The following is the list of public and bank holidays in 2017 declared by the West Bengal  government under the negotiable instruments act. This will help you to  plan your holidays and government engagements  in the year 2017 in Kolkata and West Bengal.

Celebrations of  Durga Puja in West Bengal and particularly in Kolkatta are the most famous.

S. No.Month in 2017Date in 2017Holiday name 2017Day
1January12Swami Vivekananda JayantiThursday
2January23Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose JayanatiMonday
3January26Republic DayThursday
4February1Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami (Saraswati Puja)Wednesday
5March12Doljatra / Holika DahanSunday
6April14Good Friday / Dr Ambedkar Jayanti / Bengali New Year's DayFriday
7May1May DayMonday
8May9Guru Rabindranath's BirthdayMonday
9June26Ramazan / Idu'l FitrMonday
10August15Independence DayTuesday
11September2Bakri Id / Idu'l ZuhaSaturday
13September27Durga Puja / Dussehra (Maha Saptami)Wednesday
14September28Durga Puja / Dussehra (Maha Asthami)Thursday
15September29Durga Puja / Dussehra (Maha Navami)Friday
16September30Durga Puja / Dussehra (Vijaya Dashami)Saturday
18October2Mahatma Gandhi JayantiMonday
19October5Lakshmi PujaThursday
20October19Naraka Chaturdashi / Kali PujaThursday
21November4Guru Nanak JayantiSaturday
22December25Christmas DayMonday

1st April 2017, half yearly account closing day of commercial and cooperative banks are applicable for banks and banking customers only.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>