Central Government restricted holidays in 2016 in India

India is a land of diverse religions, customs, beliefs and languages. As all important holidays of different religions, cultures and beliefs cannot be combined in a single holiday list the central government publishes a a list of restricted holidays (34 in number for the year 2016) from which a central government employee can take two holidays as per his choice in the calendar year. The restricted holiday list for the year 2016 is as follows.

S. NoHoliday NameMonth 2016DateDay
1New Years DayJanuary1Friday
2Makar Sakranti / PongalJanuary14Thursday
4Guru Gobind Singh's BirthdayJanuary16Saturday
5Basant / Sri PanchamiFebruary12Friday
6Shivaji JayantiFebruary19Friday
7Guru Ravidas BirthdayFebruary22Monday
8Swami Dayanand Saraswati BirthdayMarch4Friday
9Maha ShivratriMarch7Monday
10Holika DahanMarch23Wednesday
11Easter SundayMarch27Sunday
12Chaitra Suldadi /Gudi Padava/ Ugadi/ Cheti ChandApril8Friday
14Masadi / Vaisakhadi(Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam)April14Thursday
15Hazarat Ali's BirthdayApril21Thursday
16Guru Rabindranath's BirthdayMay8Sunday
18Rath YatraJuly6Wednesday
19Parsi New Year's day / NaurozAugust17Wednesday
20Raksha BandhanAugust18Thursday
21Vinayaka / Ganesh ChaturthiSeptember5Monday
23Maha Saptami (Dussehra)October8Saturday
24Maha Ashtami (Dussehra)October9Sunday
25Maha Navmi (Dussehra)October10Monday
26Maharishi Valmiki BirthdayOctober16Sunday
27Karva Chauth / Karaka ChaturthiOctober19Wednesday
28Naraka ChaturdashiOctober29Wednesday
29Deepawali (South India) / Naraka ChaturdasiOctober29Saturday
30Govardhan PujaOctober31Monday
31Bhai DujNovember1Tuesday
32Pratihar Sashthi /Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja)November6Sunday
33Guru Teg Bahadur's Martydom DayNovember24Thursday
34Christmas EveDecember24Saturday

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>