Central Government restricted holidays in 2014 in India

India is a land of diverse religions, customs, beliefs and languages. As all important holidays of different religions, cultures and beliefs cannot be combined in a single holiday list the central government publishes a a list of restricted holidays (32 in number for the year 2014) from which a central government employee can take two holidays as per his choice in the calender year. The restricted holiday list for the year 2014 is as follows.

S. No.
Holiday Name
1JanuaryNew Years Day1Wednesday
2JanuaryGuru Gobind Singh's Birthday7Tuesday
3JanuaryMakar Sakranti / Pongal14Tuesday
4FebruaryBasant / Sri Panchami4Tuesday
5FebruaryGuru Ravidas Birthday14Friday
6Februaryshivaji Jayanti19Wednesday
7FebruarySwami Dayanand Saraswati Birthday24Monday
8FebruaryMaha Shivratri27Thursday
9MarchHolika Dahan16Sunday
10MarchChaitra Suldadi /Gudi Padava/ Ugadi/ Cheti Chand31Monday
11AprilVaisakhi/Vishu / Masadi14Monday
12AprilVaisakhadi(Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam)15Tuesday
13AprilEaster Sunday20Sunday
14MayGuru Rabindranath's Birthday9Friday
15MayHazarat Ali's Birthday May 13 Vaisakha 23 Tuesday 13Tuesday
16JuneRath Yatra29Sunday
18AugustRaksha Bandhan10Sunday
19AugustParsi New Year's 18Monday
20AugustVinayaka / Ganesh Chaturthi 29Friday
22OctoberMaha Saptami (Dussehra)1Wednesday
23OctoberMaha Ashtami (Dussehra)2Thursday
24OctoberMaha Navmi (Dussehra)3Friday
25OctoberMaharishi Valmiki Birthday8Wednesday
26OctoberKarva Chauth / Karaka Chaturthi11Saturday
27OctoberDeepawali (South India) / Naraka Chaturdasi22Wednesday
28OctoberGovardhan Puja24Friday
29OctoberBhai Duj25Saturday
30OctoberPratihar Sashthi /Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja) 29Wednesday
31NovemberGuru Teg Bahadur's Martydom Day24Monday
32DecemberChristmas Eve24Wednesday

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>